Why Solar Cars Make Sense In 2022

Even though we can’t buy them

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.
3 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

Photo by Jon Amira on Unsplash

With a small amount of rumors hinting toward a hybrid version of the Ford Bronco featuring roof top solar I thought now would be a good time to talk about why solar cars make a lot of sense right now. So let’s go over a few details.

Charging Infrastructure

A lot of time when people think about solar cars they’re exclusively thinking about their ability to drive endlessly without ever having to recharge or refuel their vehicles, while this certainly sounds ideal in many cases I think the practicality of solar goes beyond this. With the struggles of implementing sufficient charging solutions across the entire world in order to speed up EV adoption I believe rooftop solar could be a primary solution to that problem. By producing cars that need no additional infrastructure to charge their batteries outside of a little sunlight we could start to see EVs grow in convenience. I know personally, when I’m just commuting to work during the week I hardly go beyond 50 miles, so if the solar panels on our cars could produce an equivalent amount of energy I could see a real case to be made for solar EVs or even hybrids. Let’s not forget the part where even if you are deciding to road trip +300 miles, solar technology on cars would very likely be able to extend that a few miles at the…

--

--

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.

The elements compose a magnum opus. My modus operandi is amalgam.