Why I’m Excited For Google’s Pixel Tablet

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.
3 min readMay 13, 2022
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

During Google I/O Google announced a slew of Pixel hardware. Whether you want to talk about the Pixel 6a, Pixel 7, Pixel Watch, Pixel Buds Pro or the surprise Pixel Tablet, there is a lot on display here and it’s exciting. For me personally, The majority of these don’t appeal me to me just based on my needs as a consumer but the Pixel Tablet is certainly something that I intend to keep an eye on over the course of the next few months, here’s why!

Pixel Book Successor

The last time we got a dedicated large screen device from Google was the Pixelbook Go back in 2019 (2020 for many markets), considering laptop and tablet manufacturers almost update their line up every 6 months or even less, it’s strange to see that Google has completely ignored this segment for well over two years. While things are certainly pointing towards this Pixel Tablet being based on Android versus ChromeOS I do think it will be a defining stage for both platforms, the idea of Google eventually merging these two platforms into one cohesive and seamless experience is certainly still far off but seeming a successor to the aging Pixelbook is a good sign that points towards Google’s continued interest in the larger screen segment, regardless of which OS it’s using.

The Changing World Of Laptops

--

--

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.

The elements compose a magnum opus. My modus operandi is amalgam.