3 Reasons Why Being A “Quitter” Can Be Good

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.
3 min readJan 3, 2022
Photo by Isaac Smith on Unsplash

I’d like to think that I’ve been fairly successful throughout my life. I have a loving girlfriend, a stable job, a lot of money saved and I’m continuing my education onto the doctoral level. All of that gloating for me to say, I’ve also quit a lot of different things in my life. But I think that’s a good thing, here’s why.

Time

If there’s an equalizer in this world, it’s that everyone has the same amount of time. As successful as Elon Musk his, one of things we have in common is the fact that we both only have 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year. There’s simply no changing that. By quitting a thing or two you’ll likely start to find a lot more time throughout your day. I know quitting several things later in life allowed me to focus on things that I deemed more important. Even if some of these things I only really put on hiatus for awhile. It’s important to add a little bit of planning to your life, if quitting something for a few years so that you can finish your educational path, I think that’s a good move. Figure out what is most important to you and what either adds no value or that you can work on later in life once you complete something.

Value

Most humans are creatures of habit. Meaning if you grew up doing something, you’ll likely carry that with you the rest of…

--

--

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.

The elements compose a magnum opus. My modus operandi is amalgam.