3 Reasons I’m Hyped For Android 15

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.
4 min readMar 31, 2024
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

Android has come a long way since its Froyo 2.2 days, hell I still remember talking about how Gingerbread was going to feature increased performance for the operating system. Unfortunately, those dessert names are now a thing of the past (for the most part), but on a brighter note, Android has gotten so good, most of the feature improves we see now days are more quality of life improvements rather than major thematic overhauls. All of that being said, I want to talk about why I’m absolutely hyped for Android 15!

Desktop Mode

We have talked about a fully-fledged desktop mode baked into Android ever since Google introduced us to Honeycomb way back in the 3.0 days. Although Android tablets enjoyed some fun back then, they never really became capable desktop replacements. Now, in 2024, and with Android 15 shaping up with far fewer user facing features than previous versions I think there is a real possibility that we could see a well developed and feature rich desktop mode on Android. The reason this gets me excited is simply because I would love to reduce the amount of computers I have. Currently I have my 10 year old ASUS laptop that has been a champ, then I have a 13 year old Macbook Pro running ChromeOS Flex and of course my trust Pixel 6a. These are all older computers but they get the job done for my needs as a student and remote employee. That…

--

--

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.

The elements compose a magnum opus. My modus operandi is amalgam.