3 Reasons I Haven’t Purchased A Smartwatch

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.
3 min readAug 29, 2021
Photo by Simon Daoudi on Unsplash

It seems like as human history continues into the 21st century all we’re really interested in is putting a digital display on more and more devices. Between the cars we drive and watches we wear. LED, LCD as long as it can display information, we want it everywhere. I always feared falling behind with the times, and I’m starting to see why that happens to some people. I still love my old school quartz watch, sure it’s a little rough around the edges but it looks way better than some phone on my wrist. That said, here are 3 reasons why I have little to no interest in upgrading to a smartwatch any time soon.

Charging

I mentioned in a previous article that I have numerous devices that I have to charge all the time. I won’t list them here again, but just know that I have a lot of devices that need to be charged from time to time. It can be a real pain to keep all your gadgets charged when you need them the most. I won’t elongate this part of the article all that much since it’s pretty self explanatory. Charging all these devices isn’t fun so I don’t have a whole lot of interest in adding another gadget that needs me monitoring its battery life. Of course, my current quartz watch requires a battery change every couple of months so maybe I’m in the wrong on this one.

Actual Usage

--

--

Sergio Alberto Romero, Ed.D.

The elements compose a magnum opus. My modus operandi is amalgam.